Mysterious twitpic authentication problem fixed

Error 401 from twitpic “Could not authenticate you (header rejected by twitter).”

Thanks to http://shkspr.mobi/blog/index.php/2010/05/howto-twitpic-and-oauth/ and i found that the OAuth header must be created with “GET” even though the request to twitpic is sent as a “POST”. That was unexpected and it probably would have taken me quite a while to find this just going by the documentation.


I wrote an AppleScript!

After messing up a migration of my iTunes library, I was left with many tracks in my library duplicated on disk
…/iTunes Music/Radiohead/OK Computer/01 Airbag.mp3
…/iTunes Music/Radiohead/OK Computer/01 Airbag 1.mp3
…/iTunes Music/Radiohead/OK Computer/02 Paranoid Android.mp3
…/iTunes Music/Radiohead/OK Computer/02 Paranoid Android 1.mp3
with iTunes using the later duplicate, the one with the ” 1″ prefix.

I made a script to iterate through all the iTunes library, find these tracks that point at these duplicate files, remap them back to the original files, then deletes the duplicate.

Posted script to macscripter.net

This was done with iTunes 9, I have no idea if the script would work on iTunes 10.